Education & Charity

BP Awards 2018

Now in their 41st year, the Tallow Chandlers Awards to BP Technologists and Apprentices recognise individuals who show outstanding performance both inside the company and outside it in their own communities.

Ten young people received Tallow Chandlers awards from the Lady Mayoress, Mrs Samantha Bowman, on 6 November. The two overall winners were from BP North Sea (Technical Apprentice) and NEXCEL Incubator, Pangbourne (Technologist).

In addition, LCpl David Tibbit, 170 (Infrastructure Support) Engineer Group – the Company’s military affiliation, was awarded the Sapper Award, which promotes the development of vocational skills and in particular the recognition of sappers who have shown excellence in their field of work or excelled on vocational courses.

The Master hosted the event, with the participation of Dr Joan Wales, Chairman of the Tallow Chandlers/BP Liaison Committee. Mr Lamar McKay, BP Deputy Group Chief Executive attended the event as principal guest from BP.