BP-Tallow Chandlers Awards Ceremony

The Worshipful Company of Tallow Chandlers has a long standing partnership with BP and on the 14th November 2012, the company celebrated the achievements of technologists and apprentices from BP at an annual awards ceremony held at their Hall. These awards have been running for some 30 years.

The Master Tallow Chandler, Sir Michael Snyder, presided over the ceremony and the guest speakers were the Lady Mayoress of the City ofLondon, Dr Clare Gifford and Dr Angela Strank, the Executive Assistant to BP CEO Bob Dudley. Liveryman John Baxter, who is also the Group Head of Engineering for BP and chairs the BP Tallow Chandlers liaison committee introduced the awards ceremony and then Court Assistant Michael Pereira-Rego and Liveryman Fiona Burford read the citations for the winning Apprentices and Technologist respectively.

Awards winners are selected for their capability in their workplace including their focus on safety and making a wider contribution to society. The winners are outstanding examples of excellence and have been continuously supported and nurtured by BP. The judging panels comprised senior leaders from BP and representatives from the Tallow Chandlers livery. For all of those involved the judging process and awards lunch are highlights of the year.

Traditionally the awards lunch is the first event in the Lady Mayoress’s year. She congratulated all the award winners on their outstanding capabilities. For her, it was a very special event to start the mayoral year. The Lady Mayoress reminded the audience that education, training, innovation to make advancements quickly, safely, efficiently and sustainability are hallmarks of a successfully economy. This view was supported by Dr Angela Strank, who talked about the importance of technology to BP, citing some fascinating examples, from deepwater exploration to lubricants and marketing.

The Technologist winners are:


  • Stephen Habgood (BP Global Projects Organisation,Oman) – Remedy for tie-back adapters for offshore risers.
  • Hamed Bazaz (BP Refining and Logistics,Naperville) – Wireless Ultrasonic sensors for corrosion monitoring in Refineries.
  • Céline Thompson (BP Fuels and Lubricants Technology, Pangbourne) – Castrol lubricant development for marine sector.
  • James Moss (BP Fuels and Lubricants  Technology, Pangbourne) – New thinner engine oils to reduce CO2  emissions from cars.


The Apprentice winners are:


  • Mr Richard Williamson (BP North Sea, Bruce Platform) – Designate Electrical Technician.
  • Ms Catherine Urwin – (BP North Sea, CATS Terminal) – Designate Operator.
  • Mr Antonio Bebecas – (BP Angola) – Instrument Supervisor.
  • Mr Sebastian Overell (BP North Sea, Clair Platform) – Designate Electrical Technician.
  • Mr Christopher O’Donovan (BP Marine) – Engineer Cadet.